The way I like it: Instrumental and melodic, part 1

IMG_20160710_115836910

This is a rather strange collection of songs. Most of them are not representative of the main genre of band that played them, namely hard rock and metal. However, I absolutely adore them and I have connected them with several parts of my life which I have commented. Some are though just awesome pieces of art. I hope you are not too scared to enjoy them.  Here is the YouTube playlist.

  1. Opeth – Ending credits (Damnation 2003), Opeth always goes first, absolute favorite song
  2. Nevermore – Precognition (Politics of Ecstasy 1996), my year of rebellion song, first semester of Engineering school
  3. At the Gates – And the world returned (Terminal Spirit Decease 1994), my when-leafs turn-yellow-and-it’s-raining song or simply Autumn song
  4. Dark Tranquillity – Mine is the grandeur (The Gallery 1995)
  5. The Ocean – Into the uncanny (Pelagial 2013), the instrumental one, my transatlantic flight song
  6. Ghost Brigade – 22:22 Nihil (Isolation Songs 2009), my lonely bike rides song
  7. In Mourning – Sirens (The Weight of the Oceans 2013)
  8. Opeth – Heritage (Heritage 2011), another one that I appreciated lately
  9. Jeff Loomis – Departure (Zero Order Phase 2008),  my transatlantic return flight song
  10. Machine Head – Darkness within (Locust 2011), all right maybe not instrumental but I couldn’t resist including the acoustic version
  11. At the Gates – Into The Dead Sky (Slaughter of the Soul 1995), my marathon song
  12. Jeff Loomis – Rapture (Plains of Oblivion 2012)
  13. Apocalyptica – Fade to black (Inquisition Symphony 1998), Metallica cover of course and my long-bus-travels-to-the-village song
  14. In Flames – Pallar Anders Visa (Colony 1999)
  15. Mogwai – Glasgow mega snake (Mr. Beast 2006), my recent loved song
  16. Russian Circles – Memoriam (Memorial 2013), still passes for instrumental and they are coming for a live soon
  17. God Is An Astronaut – Frozen Twilight (A Moment of Stillness 2006), they are also coming for a live soon
  18. YOB – Marrow (Clearing the Path to Ascend 2014), my melancholic Christmas song, love the instrumental parts
  19. In Flames – Timeless (Subterannean 1995)
  20. Santana – El Farol (Supernatural 1999), and finally a popular one to honor

PS: That’s my guitar!

Α.Δ.

About Apolytos Diallaktikos

Hi, I'm Karlos and this is my personal, bilingual blog. I see it as a way of holding a public calendar with all the hidden or not-so-hidden gems I discover, as a mean of sharing my inner thoughts, poems, songs, books, films. Originally from Thessaloniki, Greece and currently at UT Austin, Texas.
This entry was posted in English, Music, Review. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The way I like it: Instrumental and melodic, part 1

  1. Pingback: The way I like it: Instrumental and shredding, part 2 | Απολύτως Διαλλακτικός

Leave a Reply

