Planet Earth and Life: best nature documentaries ever

maxresdefault

As I have said, it is my goal to identify and review all the gems I find throughout my research. Those two guys, Planet Earth (2006) and Life (2009) need no introduction and in the unlikely case you haven’t seen already them, quit what you’re doing and start watching! They are the best, most critically acclaimed, multiple times awarded TV mini series from BBC, about 10 one-hour episodes each. Narration is done by my long time favorite David Attenborough, who recently turned 90. This man was born for this job. I am so jealous. He has been to the most amazing and exotic places on Earth. He has witnessed and capture on camera events that no one has seen before. If I had a grandpa, I would like to be like him.

David-Attenborough-001

From David Attenborough’s closing remarks: “Our planet is still full of wonders. As we explore them, so we gain not only understanding, but power. It’s not just the future of the whale that today lies in our hands: it’s the survival of the natural world in all parts of the living planet. We can now destroy or we can cherish. The choice is ours.”

Regarding the documentaries, for Planet Earth  we are going to visit all the exquisite places from the Pole to Pole as the first episode quotes. We are going to enjoy unique and rare phenomena from massive animal Caribou migrations to lonely whale journeys.  I used to adore the jungles since my National Geographic tapes childhood and that hasn’t changed. Number two are the deserts. For some strange reason I am not getting terribly excited for the snow, but I realize it is extremely hard to film in those settings and I deeply respect that now. The title of each episode is self-explanatory:

  1. From Pole to Pole
  2. Mountains
  3. Fresh Water
  4. Caves
  5. Deserts
  6. Ice Worlds
  7. Great Plains
  8. Jungles
  9. Shallow Seas
  10. Seasonal Forests
  11. Ocean Deep

Life

Regarding Life, which I slightly prefer over Planet Earth, the focus is shifted more on the animal side rather than the actual environment. It’s very hard to pick a favorite, however I’ll stick again with my kindergarten choice reptiles and birds. Without wanting to spoil anything, I’ll just mention one instance that is inindelibly written in my memory despite the fact that I have seen the documentaries quite a while ago. It’s none other than the birds of paradise and the way they build their homes, astonishing! Nevertheless warning, this series can become pretty emotional occasionally. The titles go as follows:

  1. Challenges of Life
  2. Reptiles and Amphibians
  3. Mammals
  4. Fish
  5. Birds
  6. Insects
  7. Hunters and Hunted
  8. Creatures of the Deep
  9. Plants
  10. Primates

This is by no means a comprehensive review, it’s more like a teaser or the declaration of dedication from an adamant fan. There numerous unbelievable little details depicted in the two documentaries and you simply have to watch them by yourself. In any case, I can not stress enough how wonderful the shows are and I believe you will definitely agree once you get to see them. I might just see them again myself after all this recollection.

Α.Δ.

About Απολύτως Διαλλακτικός

Logical stories of everyday madness
This entry was posted in English, Pictures. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Planet Earth and Life: best nature documentaries ever

  1. Pingback: Paradigm shift: Planet Earth 2 | Απολύτως Διαλλακτικός

  2. cjwaterfield says:

    I can’t count how many times I have watched these, and Frozen Planet, and Life in the Freezer. Thanks to these wonderful documentaries I became the artist that I am today. Through Attenborough you can learn about species you’ve never heard of, places you’ll never see, you’ll be shocked, saddened, awed and amazed. I am hooked.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hope says:

    National Geographic was one of my favorites as a kid. Actually I’d love to look at the old ones (1960s and 70s). My mom said there was a time when National Geographic was cutting-edge in terms of revealing hidden cultures that no one in the US had ever seen before. I just might do some digging when I’m at the library next week.

    Like

  4. Bellezza says:

    I show Planet Earth to my class almost every year, and they love it. How can we help but be mesmerized by our beautiful world and this outstanding filming?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thanks for sharing.
    I will definitely check this out.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. chitra2016 says:

    Its beautiful, educational and very informative! Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Hiya Karlos,
    I’ve presented you with the Versatile Blogger Award – ta-daaa!
    I’ve chosen you for this prestigious award because you’ve Liked another award I won in last couple of days – so you only have yourself to blame!😀
    The direct link to your award, and the instructions is https://levishedated.wordpress.com/2016/07/29/versatile-blogger-award/
    I do hope you have fun with this.:)
    Kindness – Robert.

    Nice post, by the way. David Attenborough is amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: Planet Earth and Life: best nature documentaries ever – worldtraveller70

Comments...